We work towards improving and expanding scientific knowledge on geothermal resources in Chile

We work towards improving and expanding scientific knowledge on geothermal resources in Chile

We work towards improving and expanding scientific knowledge on geothermal resources in Chile

CEGA launched second edition of the book “La Tierra del Fuego”

Center of Excellence in Geothermal de Los Andes (CEGA) expanded the geological and visual walk compa...

Read more

CEGA researchers will lead UChile project about water purification in Los Rios

The project was awarded FIC delivered by Regional Goverment of Los Rios and his Regional Council. Th...

Read more

About Us

CEGA is a Fondap-Conicyt project that began operations during the first half of 2011.  CEGA comprises a team of researchers from the Faculty of Physical and Mathematical Sciences at the University of Chile, with scientists from the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile and other international institutions. Its five main research fields are: Heat Sources; Fluid and Isotopic Geochemistry; Heat-Fluid-Rock Interaction; Structural Controls and Geophysics; Reservoir architecture and Modelling.

Mission

At the Andean Geothermal Center of Excellence we work to generate and improve geothermal knowledge in Chile. Our mission is to develop geothermal energy as a sustainable, environmentally friendly and economically competitive resource in order to contribute to the energy requirements in Chile and the Andean countries.

History

The Andean Geothermal Center of Excellence (CEGA) is funded by CONICYT FONDAP Program. CEGA is located at the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences of the University of Chile and comprises a team of researchers from the University of Chile, along with scientists from the Pontifical Catholic University of Chile and other international institutions.

After the first five-year period (2011-2015), CEGA obtained FONDAP Program funds to continue operations for five years more (2016-2020). In this new stage, we will focus our efforts in the following goals:

  • Establish a comprehensive geological model for the Andean geothermal systems.
  • Form highly trained professionals in basic and applied research in geothermal energy.
  • Promote national and international networking with other world-class research centers.
  • Increase public awareness and promote geothermal as a renewable, clean and alternative energy.
  • Incorporate applied sciences and engineering.

Diego Morata

dmorata@ing.uchile.cl

Director Heat-fluid-rock interaction research line

Miguel Ángel Parada

maparada@cec.uchile.cl

Deputy Director Heat sources research line

Martin Reich

mreich@cec.uchile.cl

Principal Researcher Fluid Geochemistry research line.

José Miguel Cembrano

jcembrano@ing.puc.cl

Principal Researcher Structural & Geophysics research line

Linda Daniele

ldaniele@ing.uchile.cl

Reservoir Architecture and Modelling

Gloria Arancibia

garancibia@ing.puc.cl

Structural & Geophysics

Fernando Barra

fbarrapantoja@ing.uchile.cl

Fluid and Isotopic Geochemistry

Angelo Castruccio

acastruc@ing.uchile.cl

Heat Sources

Daniel Díaz

ddiaz@dgf.uchile.cl

Structural & Geophysics

Sara Elgueta

saelgueta@ing.puc.cl / selgueta11@gmail.com

Reservoir Architecture and Modelling

Domingo Mery

domingomery@gmail.com

Structural & Geophysics

Francisco Suárez

fsuarez@ing.puc.cl

Reservoir Architecture and Modelling

Álvaro Valencia

alvalenc@ing.uchile.cl

Reservoir Architecture and Modelling

Andrés Veloso

eaveloso@gmail.com

Structural & Geophysics

Emilio Vera

evera@dgf.uchile.cl

Structural & Geophysics

Luis Vargas

luis.vargas@die.uchile.cl

Satellite projects

Gonzalo Yáñez

gyanez@ing.puc.cl

Structural & Geophysics

Álvaro Amigo

alvaro.amigo@sernageomin.cl

Heat Sources

Diego Aravena

daravena@ing.uchile.cl

Satellite projects (direct use)

Mauricio Muñoz

maumunoz@ing.uchile.cl

Satellite projects (Direct Use)

Sofia Vargas

sofiavargas@fcfm.uchile.cl

Human, social and cultural dimensions of geothermal energy

Benigno Godoy

bgodoyn@gmail.com

Juvenal Letelier

juvesrocks.es@gmail.com

Matias Taucare

matias.taucare@gmail.com

Fuentes termales San Felipe-Los Andes

(Español) Pablo Sánchez-Alfaro

(Español) pablo.sanchez@uach.cl

Nicolás Hurtado

nicolas.hurtado@ug.uchile.cl

Proyectos satélites (uso directo)

Pablo Valdenegro

pvaldenegro@ing.uchile.cl

Proyectos satélites (Uso Directo)

(Español) Nicolás Pérez Estay

nnperez@uc.cl

Proyectos satélites (uso directo)

Benoît Viguier

(Español) benoit.viguier@hotmail.fr

(Español) Investigador

(Español) Jorge Crempien De La Carrera

(Español) jocrempiend@ing.puc.cl

(Español) Investigador CEGA

(Español) John Browning

(Español) jbrowning@ing.puc.cl

(Español) Patricia Larrea

plarrea@ing.uchile.cl

(Español) Rurik Romero

(Español) rurikrom@gmail.com

Karin Garcia

(Español) kgarcia@ing.uchile.cl

Esteban Mico

(Español) esteban.micco.h@gmail.com

(Español) Santiago Maza

santiagomaz@gmail.com

Cecilia Ibarra

cecilia.ibarrachile@gmail.com

Daniele Tardani

daniele.tardani@uach.cl

Investigador

Alida Perez-Fodich

(Español) aliperez@uchile.cl

(Español) JAIME ARAYA

(Español) jaaraya@ing.uchile.cl

Investigador PostDoctoral

Jeanne Vidal

jeannevidal@ing.uchile.cl

Postdoc

(Español) Philippe Robidoux

(Español) probidoux@ing.uchile.cl

(Español) Christian Betancourt

(Español) chris.betanco@gmail.com

(Español) Estudiante Doctorado en Ciencias (Geología) - Universidad de Chile

Pablo Molina

pablogmc@gmail.com

Origen y emplazamiento de plutones andinos en ambientes contrastantes

Estefanía Camus

estefaniacamus@gmail.com

Minerales de alteración como indicadores de circulación de fluidos en el sistema geotermal Licancura, Región de Tarapacá, Chile

Marcela Pizarro

mconsuelo.pp@gmail.com

Caracterización de la evolución de los volátiles del volcán Lastarria, Zona Volcánica Central de los Andes, Chile

(Español) Valentina Mura

(Español) vrmura@uc.cl

(Español) Estudiante de Doctorado en Ciencias de la Ingeniería - Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile

(Español) Javiera Véliz

(Español) jconstanzaveliz@gmail.com

(Español) Estudiante de Magíster en Geología - Universidad de Chile

(Español) Camila López

(Español) calopez23@uc.cl

(Español) Estudiante de Magíster de Ciencias de la Ingeniería - Pontificia Universidad Católica

(Español) Camila Loaiza

(Español) camila_loa@hotmail.com

(Español) Estudiante de Magíster en Ciencias, Mención Geología - Universidad de Chile

(Español) Daniela Parra-Encalada

(Español) danielaparraencalada@gmail.com

(Español) Estudiante de magíster en Ciencias, mención Geología - Universidad de Chile

(Español) Ignacio Pérez

(Español) ignacio.perez.1@ug.uchile.cl

(Español) Estudiante de Magíster en Geología - Universidad de Chile

(Español) Loreto Hernández

(Español) loreto.hernandez@ug.uchile.cl

(Español) Estudiante de Doctorado en Ciencias, Mención Geología - Universidad de Chile

(Español) Maximiliano Seguel

(Español) maximiliano.seguel@ug.uchile.cl

(Español) Estudiante de Magíster en Geología - Universidad de Chile

(Español) Ignacio Quiroga

(Español) ignacio.quiroga@ug.uchile.cl

(Español) Magister en Ciencias, mención Geología - Universidad de Chile

(Español) Luis Naranjo

(Español) lnaranjomardones@outlook.com

(Español) Estudiante Magister en Ciencias - Universidad de Chile

(Español) Felipe Sáez

(Español) fcsaez@uc.cl

(Español) Estudiante de Magíster en Ciencias de la Ingeniería - Pontificia Universidad Católica

(Español) Daniel Elizalde

(Español) jdelizalde@uc.cl

(Español) Estudiante de Doctorado en Ciencias de la Ingeniería - Pontificia Universidad Católica

(Español) Cristobal Cuevas

(Español) cristobal.cuevas.cc@gmail.com

(Español) Estudiante de Magíster en Ciencias Mención Geología - Universidad de Chile

(Español) Carla Barbosa

(Español) carla.barbosa@ug.uchile.cl

(Español) Estudiante de Magíster en Ciencias, Mención Geología - Universidad de Chile

(Español) Nicole Briones

(Español) nkbriones@uc.cl

(Español) Estudiante de Magíster en Ciencias de la Ingeniería – Pontificia Universidad Católica

(Español) Daniel Balzan

(Español) daniel_balzan@hotmail.com

(Español) Estudiante de Magíster. Mención geología – Universidad de Chile

Samuel Lepe

Laboratory

Verónica Rodríguez

vrodriguezarias@ing.uchile.cl

Laboratory

Karin Rojas

krojashueniqueo@ing.uchile.cl

Administration

Erika Rojas

(Español) erojasmaureira@ing.uchile.cl

(Español) Laboratorio

(Español) Luz Fariña

(Español) lfarina@ing.uchile.cl

(Español) Comunicaciones

(Español) Juan Patricio Alarcón

(Español) juan.alarcons@usach.cl

(Español) Christian Nievas

(Español) cnievas@ing.uchile.cl

(Español) Laboratorio

About geothermal energy

If you want  a copy of these files, please contact us at  sotero@ing.uchile.cl